Posted by: Lady Elizabeth | June 7, 2008

Respect.

earn it

Respect:

Noun

           

  • S: (n) respectregard ((usually preceded by `in’) a detail or point) “it differs in that respect”
  • S: (n) esteemregardrespect (the condition of being honored (esteemed or respected or well regarded)) “it is held in esteem”; “a man who has earned high regard”
  • S: (n) respectesteemregard (an attitude of admiration or esteem) “she lost all respect for him”
  • S: (n) deferencerespect (a courteous expression (by word or deed) of esteem or regard) “his deference to her wishes was very flattering”; “be sure to give my respects to the dean”
  • S: (n) obediencerespect (behavior intended to please your parents) “their children were never very strong on obedience”; “he went to law school out of respect for his father’s wishes”
  • S: (n) regardrespect (a feeling of friendship and esteem) “she mistook his manly regard for love”; “he inspires respect”
  • S: (n) deferencerespectrespectfulness (courteous regard for people’s feelings) “in deference to your wishes”; “out of respect for his privacy”

Verb

Respect is HUGE. If you don’t respect yourself, than why should others respect you? Self respect is a goal that everyone should aim for because it ultimately sets your mind, mood, body, and health to SUCCESS.
If you feel that you are not repected as much as you should be, then take the time to find out if you repect others. Here are some questions you should ask yourself. Am I considerate of other people? Do I treat them the way that I would want to be treated? Do I accept personal differences, or get upset about them instead? Am I civil? Am I courteous? Do I try my best to be dignified? Am I willing to solve problems? Do I solve them without violence or hurtful language? Do I embarrass anyone on purpose? Do I intentionally try to anger, frustrate, or hurt anyone? Why is it that I think that I am a respectful person? Am I a team player? Do I work well with others?
If you answered no to any of these, then you have something to work on. I know I do. I do consider myself a respectful person, but sometimes we forget to what extent we should be repsecting… and to what extent we should be expecting. You should only expect as much respect as you are giving. This too runs back to the golden rule of “Do unto others as you want them to do to you.”
You will find that you have a lot to lose if you do not repect others. You can be walked out on simply because you disrespected them. This is why it is important that you are conscious of how you treat others.
“Every human being and nation, irrespective of their power or strength, has the right to be respected. “Respect is an unassuming resounding force, the stuff that equity and justice are made of.”[1] It means being treated with consideration and esteem and to be willing to treat people similarly.. It means to have a regard for other peoples’ feelings,[2] listening to people and hearing them, i.e. giving them one’s full attention. Even more importantly, respect means treating one with dignity. Respect is the opposite of humiliation and contempt. So where the latter can be a cause of conflict, the former and its opposite can help transform it. As William Ury writes in his book The Third Side: “Human beings have a host of emotionalneeds– for love and recognition, for belonging and identity, for purpose and meaning to lives. If all these needs had to be subsumed in one word, it might be respect”[3].”
In closing, I hope that you can remember this and take it into account, as it does affect your mind & body in the long run.
respect image
Responses

  1. I added this page to my blogroll as well Lady E.

    Hmmm… something tells me that I won’t be seeing a Skittles blog on this page….

    🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

